Skip to content



Back to News

Cage The Elephant’s New Album “Unpeeled” Out Today Worldwide




(New York – July 28, 2017) GRAMMY® Award winner Cage The Elephant’s new album, UNPEELED, is out today on RCA Records, and you can listen to it here.

This week, to commemorate the release of this new album, Cage The Elephant rolls out 21 live performance videos worldwide, one for each song on UNPEELED.  Highlights include premieres of  “Rubber Ball” on Rolling Stone, “Cry Baby” on Entertainment Weekly, “Trouble” on Flaunt, “Punchin’ Bag” on Consequence Of Sound, and their covers of Daft Punk and Julian Casablancas’ “Instant Crush” on NME, Wreckless Eric’s “Whole Wide World” on Consequence of Sound, and The Strangler’s “Golden Brown,” on Billboard. You can find all premieres here and watch all of the “Unpeeled” videos here.

UNPEELED was recorded over a series of intimate shows in cities including Los Angeles, Washington DC, Knoxville, and Nashville where the band performed in a stripped-down arrangement with a string quartet and additional percussion. UNPEELED features twenty-one tracks: eighteen curated songs from their past four albums plus three reimagined versions of existing songs. Said front man Matt Shultz about the inspiration behind the album: “Many times you’re adding sonic layers looking for something to hide behind, and what you don’t realize is that that vulnerability and that nakedness might be the most compelling and interesting thing about the song.”

Cage The Elephant has a number of confirmed festival dates in the US and will perform at Forecastle Festival, Lollapalooza, Osheaga Music & Arts, Mempho Fest and Cal Jam with The Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age. Tickets for these dates are on-sale now and available here. Recently, Cage The Elephant also appeared on Late Night With Seth Meyers to perform the UNPEELED versions of “Whole Wide World” and “Too Late to Say Goodbye”.

Cage The Elephant received their first GRAMMY® AWARD for Best Rock Album for their fourth studio album, Tell Me I’m Pretty, which was produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys. At radio, Cage The Elephant holds the record for the most #1 Alternative songs of any artist this decade. Tell Me I’m Pretty’s first two singles “Mess Around” and “Trouble,” both topped the Alternative charts at #1 (“Mess Around” also hit #1 at Triple A). In addition, “Trouble” maintained its bullet on the Alternative radio chart for an astounding 41 weeks. “Cold Cold Cold,” went top 5 at both Alternative and Triple A. Watch the video for “Cold Cold Cold” and “Trouble,” both directed by singer Matt Shultz.

Cage The Elephant consists of singer Matt Shultz, guitarist Brad Shultz, drummer Jared Champion, bassist Daniel Tichenor, lead guitarist Nick Bockrath and Matthan Minster on keyboard and backing vocals. Long celebrated as one of the most explosive live bands in the world, Cage The Elephant have sold out several headlining runs including a summer 2016 arena tour and recent sold out UK and European tour. Additionally, Cage The Elephant’s self-titled debut album was recently certified RIAA platinum.


Critical Acclaim for Tell Me I’m Pretty:

“It’s a daring, deliberate shift for Cage The Elephant” – The New York Times

“Tell Me I’m Pretty…is their best yet – melodically taut garage rock with psychedelic flourishes and a fighting edge” – Rolling Stone

“[Tell Me I’m Pretty] swaggers with a raw, psychedelic sound” – Billboard

“The record is grimy, gritty, and thick rock ‘n’ roll” – AV Club


UNPEELED Track Listing

01 Cry Baby

02 Whole Wide World

03 Sweetie Little Jean

04 Spiderhead

05 Take It Or Leave It

06 Too Late To Say Goodbye

07 Punchin’ Bag

08 Shake Me Down

09 Telescope

10 Instant Crush

11 Trouble

12 Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked

13 Rubber Ball

14 Aberdeen

15 Golden Brown

16 Cold Cold Cold

17 How Are You True

18 Come A Little Closer

19 Back Against The Wall

20 Cigarette Daydreams

21 Right Before My Eyes


July 28 /// Oro-Medonte, ON, Canada /// Wayhome Music & Arts Festival

August 3 /// Chicago, IL /// Lollapalooza

August 5 /// Montreal, QC, Canada /// Osheaga Music & Arts

September 9 /// St Louis, MO /// Loufest

September 23 /// Las Vegas, NV /// Life Is Beautiful Festival

September 30 /// Mobile, AL /// Ten Sixty Five Street Party

October 6 /// Memphis, TN /// Mempho Music Fest

October 7 /// San Bernardino, CA /// Cal Jam 17

November 18 /// Mexico City, Mexico /// Corona Capital


Pre-order UNPEELED
iTunes –
Apple Music –
Spotify –
Amazon –

related articles