Skip to content



Back to News

New Music From “The Get Down: Original Soundtrack From The Netflix Original Series” Set For April 14th Release

New Clip For “Shaolin’s Theme/Pray” By Malay/6LACK Releases Today

 Click Here To Watch

[New York, NY – February 27, 2017]  New music from The Get Down: Original Soundtrack from The Netflix Original Series will be released on April 14th via Baz Luhrmann’s label, House of Iona, and RCA Records.  The soundtrack accompanies Part Two of the music-driven drama series The Get Down, which will premiere globally on Netflix on April 7th. In addition, a clip for the song “Shaolin’s Theme/Pray” by Malay/6LACK, which is used in both parts of the series, releases today. Click here to watch.

Executive produced by Luhrmann and Nas, The Get Down: Original Soundtrack From The Netflix Original Series will feature original songs and classics reimagined for the series, including performances by rising artist 6LACK, Nasir Jones as “Mr. Books,” Herizen Guardiola as “Mylene Cruz,” and Skylan Brooks, Tremaine Brown, Jr., Jaden Smith, Justice Smith and Shameik Moore as “The Get Down Brothers.” Additional artists and full track listing will be announced soon.

Part Two of The Get Down picks up in 1978, one year after the events of Part One. The sweeping upheaval of late 70s New York City finds an as-yet-unnamed new pop cultural force striking a new beat in the Bronx, while disco still reigns supreme. Our young lovers Books and Mylene are caught in the swirl of a looming cultural revolution destined to change everything about their world – but they have this moment to make their mark. Amidst the backdrop of a bankrupt New York City, ruthless gangsters and money-hungry record label bosses, they discover it’s only their creativity and love that will carry them through — and that they’ll sacrifice everything for their music, and each other.

Click here to view the date announcement video for Part Two.
The first installment of The Get Down: The Original Soundtrack to the Netflix Original Series, released on August 12, 2016, featured stellar performances by Christina Aguilera, Miguel, Zayn, Michael Kiwanuka, Leon Bridges and more. NPR’s Fresh Air stated that the soundtrack “captures moments from 40 years ago and brings them decisively into the present.”  Vulture cited that the soundtrack “fuses funk, disco, gospel and rap into the equivalent of a seamless, single, long-playing record.”

 The Get Down is produced by Sony Pictures Television for Netflix. The series is executive produced by Baz Luhrmann, Catherine Martin, Paul Watters, Stephen Adly Guirgis and Nas. Seth Zvi Rosenfeld, Aaron Rahsaan Thomas and Kerry Orent  are co-executive producers.


related articles